2006 NL Gold Glove Award Winners

In a stunning development, Derek Jeter has been awarded the Rawlings Gold Glove Award for National League Shortstop.  When asked how this could be, a Rawlings representative responded that due to his performance at National League parks during interleague play under NL rules, the managers and coaches felt he was the obvious choice.  The award is Jeter’s fourth gold glove overall and second in two days.

The rest of the winners:

C: Brad Ausmus, Houston Astros, 3rd
1B: Albert Pujols, St. Louis, 1st
2B: Orlando Hudson, Arizona Diamondbacks, 2nd
3B: Scott Rolen, St. Louis, 7th
SS: Omar Vizquel, SF Giants, 11th
OF: Andruw Jones, Atlanta Braves, 9th
OF: Mike Cameron, San Diego Padres, 3rd
OF: Carlos Beltran, NY Mets, 1st
P: Greg Maddux, LA Dodgers, 16th

6 comments… add one
  • I thought Yadier Molina had a good chance of breaking into that category this season.

    walein November 3, 2006, 5:53 pm
  • Ya, mostly “safe” bets, except for Molina, and you can debate the 2B.. (but I’ll admit I don’t watch the Diamondbacks..)

    Lar November 3, 2006, 6:16 pm
  • from today’s “new york daily news”:
    “Yankee shortstop Derek Jeter won his third consecutive Gold Glove yesterday and minutes after the award was announced, George Steinbrenner said it was only the beginning of the honors Jeter deserves for his 2006 season.”
    …and here’s the rest of what the expert had to say:
    “’I hope he wins the MVP,” Steinbrenner said in a statement released by his personal PR man, Howard Rubenstein. “He should.’”

    dc November 3, 2006, 7:49 pm
  • Brad Ausmus? Omar Vizquel? Seriously??
    These guys will probably still be getting Gold Gloves after they die.

    mouse November 3, 2006, 10:12 pm
  • I thought Dave Pinto had a good point — by logic alone, how can someone who’s now 35 (I-Rod, Maddux, Rogers, etc.) be the best defender at his position for so many consecutive years? Seriously, no one 10 years younger than these guys might be a little better than them now?
    Craziness. Yeah, yeah, pointless award, means nothing, calm down, etc. etc.

    Paul SF November 4, 2006, 12:49 am
  • that is sooo stupid that pujols did not win the mvp. he singal handedly put the cards in the playoffs

    hylton November 20, 2006, 3:44 pm

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Next post:

Previous post: